Cognitive Linguistics in 2016



Department of English Philology at the University of Warmia and Mazury (UWM), Olsztyn, Poland, is pleased to launch a Call for Papers for the 2016 Annual Conference of the Polish Cognitive Linguistics Association.


Dates: 22-24 September 2016

Venue: Faculty of Humanities, UWM, Poland

Conference languages: English and Polish

Form of presentation: a 20-minute paper presentation followed by a 10-minute discussion

Submission of abstracts: by April, 15

Registration fee: by 20th of June, 2016.


Conference programme

Important places

Book of abstracts

Public transport from the Main Railway Station

Plenary speakers:

Prof. Zoltan Kövecses (Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest, Hungary)

Prof. Esa Itkonen (Turku University, Finland)

Prof. Bogusław Bierwiaczonek (Jan Długosz University, Częstochowa, Poland)

Prof. Krzysztof Hejwowski (Warsaw University)


Submission of abstracts

Please send your abstract (doc or docx) to the conference e-mail  by April 15, 2016. Please use the attached registration form.

Registration form

The abstract (200-300 words) should specify the research scope and objective, the adopted methodology and expected results.

We invite a broad range of papers within the discipline of Cognitive Linguistics and related fields. The topics below should be seen as an inspiration and not as a limitation in the scientific enterprise:

  • Conceptual blending
  • Language and the mind
  • Cognitive linguistics and translation
  • Cognitive linguistics from the pedagogical perspective
  • Categorization in language
  • Cognitive linguistics and text analysis
  • Cognitive cultural linguistics/ ethno-linguistics
  • Cognitive theory of film
  • Cognitive linguistics and discourse analysis
  • Conceptual metaphor and metonymy
  • Metaphor in scientific discourse
  • Force-dynamics model
  • Perspectivization
  • Cognitive poetics
  • Cognitive semantics
  • Cognitive sociolinguistic
  • Embodiment (including extended and/or social embodiment)
  • Notification of acceptance by the Scientific Committee will be sent by May 31, 2016


Conference fee:

  • Faculty members: 130 EUR
  • PhD students: 100 EUR

The fee covers conference materials, coffee breaks and the conference dinner on Thursday,  22nd September. The fee does not cover meals and accommodation.

Meals can be booked at the University canteen near the conference venue (please tick your choice in the Registration Form).

More information about accommodation and caterig during the conferece can be found here.


The conference fee should be transferred to the following bank account by 20th of June, 2016.


IBAN: PL92 1030 1218 0000 0000 9113 2567

Uniwersytet Warmińsko-Mazurski w Olsztynie

Oczapowskiego 2, 10-719 Olsztyn

Important: please provide the following sub-account number on your transfer: 14.880.060 - 500 and your name



If you have any enquiries feel free to contact Iwona Góralczyk


We are looking forward to seeing you all in Olsztyn!


Scientific Committee:

  • prof. Barbara Lewandowska-Tomaszczyk
  • prof. Bogusław Bierwiaczonek
  • prof. Krystyna Waszakowa
  • prof. UW dr hab. Elżbieta Górska
  • prof. UMK dr hab. Waldemar Skrzypczak
  • prof. UWR dr hab. Agnieszka Libura
  • prof. UAM dr hab. Małgorzata Fabiszak
  • prof. UMCS dr hab. Adam  Głaz
  • Prof. UW dr hab. Krzysztof Hejwowski
  • prof. UWM dr hab. Ewa Kujawska-Lis


Organizing Committee:

Head: prof. UWM dr hab. Ewa Kujawska-Lis

Organizing Committee Members