About the University of Warmia and Mazury

The University of Warmia and Mazury in Olsztyn (UWM) was founded on 1 September 1999. The establishment resulted from merging three institutions of higher education in Olsztyn, i.e. the Academy of Agriculture and Technology, the Higher School of Pedagogy, and Warmian Theological Institute.

At first, in 1999, there were 12 faculties, 32 branches of study, and 24.500 students at UWM. The University also had a right to grant doctoral degrees in 13 scientific disciplines, and postdoctoral degrees in 6 branches. According to the University’s Act of Establishment, the position of the first Rector of UWM was taken by Prof. Ryszard Górecki, PhD. The University has been settled in Kortowo – an academic campus that used to belong to the Academy of A&T.
UWM has undergone an intense transformation since its beginnings. Achieving such a progress would not be possible without funds of the European Union. Educational and scientific bases of the University have been significantly reinforced, for example by purchasing high-tech laboratory equipment.

Over the years, UWM offer was extended to new branches of study, and consequently, new faculties were established. Currently, there are 17 faculties at UWM, 11 of which have full academic rights, namely the right to grant postdoctoral degrees (in 13 disciplines). Furthermore, the doctoral degree can be granted at 16 faculties, within 24 disciplines.

In the Academic Year 2014/15, there are 27.000 students that are educated at 17 faculties, and 65 branches of study, within either full-time or part-time studies. Additionally, there are also 600 doctoral candidates, and 1500 post-graduate students.


The Institute of Political Science was created as a result of the division of the Institute of Political, Philosophical and Social Sciences into two separate units. It was founded in the ruling by the Rector of the University dated 10th April 2001. The Institute operates within the Faculty of Social Sciences (until 2004 the Institute was a part of the Faculty of Humanities).

The Institute belongs to the youngest, according to the age (the average full professor is 56,0 years old, assistant professor 52,5 years old, doctors 35,4 years old) and to the most developing, according to the scientific achievements (acquiring scientific degrees and numbers of publications) organisational units of the University. The latest success of the Institute on scientific field is a right to grant a doctor’s degree in political science (decision of the Central State Commission to the Scientific Degrees and Titles from 30th March 2009).