Record number of the Minister’s grants for UWM students

As many as 22 students of the University of Warmia and Mazury in Olsztyn received grants of the Minister of Science and Higher Education for outstanding achievements. It is the best result in the last seven years.

This year nineteen students and three doctoral candidates from UWM received grants of the Minister of Science and Higher Education  for outstanding achievements. The record number of grantees fell to the Faculty of Law and Administration – they have seven grantees. At the Faculty of Biology and Biotechnology there are five grantees, including three doctoral candidates. The Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science, as well as the Faculty of Social Sciences have two grantees at each of the faculties. The rest of the students represent the Faculty of Humanities, Environmental Management and Agriculture, Geodesy, Geospatial and Civil Engineering, Faculty of Animal Bioengineering and Technical Sciences.

Three students received the grants for the second time in a row.

− I would like to express my appreciation for these students. The grants confirm that they make the best of the time spent on studying. Moreover, the fact that there are so many of these grants proves that the standards of education at our University is already high, and it is still growing. Thus, it is clear that UWM fulfils its role, that is educating young people, very efficiently – notices Prof. Janusz Piechocki, the Vice-Rector for Students Affairs.

It is not easy to receive the Minister’s grant. In order to succeed, one needs to have high grade point average as well as, for instance, outstanding scientific achievements, international prizes or awards of distinction. The grant for students is 14.000 zlotys, and for doctoral candidates – 22.000 zlotys per year.


transl. AP

The Minister’s grantees in the academic year 2014/15 at UWM:


The Faculty of Biology and Biotechnology: Marta Magdalena Jastrzębska, Joanna Najmuła, Tomasz Ślężak;

The Faculty of Law and Administration: Maria Adrianna Tymieniecka, Joanna Rybicka-Ziarko, Ewelina Reczuch, Magdalena Prusik, Agata Opalska, Danuta Nidzgorska, Kinga Długołęcka, and Katarzyna Karwowska;

The Faculty of Social Sciences: Wojciech Fabiszewski, Aleksandra Zajkowska;

The Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science: Mateusz Nowotka, Tomasz Wiśniewski;

The Faculty of Humantities: Anna Pomianowska-Wronka;

The Faculty of Environmental Management and Agriculture: Eliza Krawiecka;

The Faculty of Geodesy, Geospatial and Civil Engineering: Marcin Kardasz;

The Faculty of Technical Sciences: Marta Tanajewska.

Doctoral candidates: Joanna Maria Cichocka, Marta Kieżun,  (the Faculty of Biology and Biotechnology) and Justyna Pogorzelska-Przybyłek (Faculty of Animal Bioengineering).
in category